The ENN Steering Committee: Letter to all ENN members

Dear members of the ENN,

Under the terms of the ENN Constitution adopted in January 2009 in Hamburg, the three members of the Steering Committee are elected for two years and are eligible for re-election to a second term of two years, with one-third of the members retiring at each election.

At a meeting of the Steering Committee held in Hamburg on 14 August 2009, it was decided that the ENN headquarters would change countries every two years. The new headquarters would be located at the institution where the bi-annual ENN Conference takes place, the organiser of the conference being, as a matter of course, a member of the Steering Committee.

Since 2009, the ENN has been in its start-up phase. Wolf Schmid, who organised the first ENN Conference and who convened the inaugural meeting of the ENN, has been the Chairman to date. The members of the Steering Committee have agreed that Per Krogh Hansen will act as Chairman starting with the current second ENN Conference. The ENN headquarters will be transferred to Paris in September 2012, at which time John Pier will become Chairman. The third ENN Conference will take place in Paris in the spring of 2013 and will be organised by the Centre for Research on the Arts and Language.

Since the ENN is now closing its start-up phase, but also as a matter of practical necessity, it is suggested that the election for new members of the Steering Committee be postponed until the General Meeting that is to take place at the time of the third ENN Conference in 2013.

Kind regards,

Wolf Schmid

chairman of the ENN

News image: 

About us

ENN is the European Narratology Network, an association of individual narratologists and narratological institutions. ENN aims to foster the study of narrative representation in literature, film, digital media, etc. across all European languages and cultures.